cart-added The item has been added to your cart.


What is Nakshatra?

According to Vedic Astrology, Nakshatra refers to the stars/constellations. The 360⁰ zodiac system is divided into 12 zodiac signs. There are a total of 27 Nakshatras in astrology, and hence each star spans 13⁰ 20’. In ancient times, Nakshatras are considered as means of worshipping the divine. These 27 constellations are based on the movement of the Moon, which travels approximately 27.3 days around its orbit. Hence, a birth star of an individual is calculated based on the position of the Moon in any of these stars.

The root word ‘Naksh’ means to worship or approach and ‘tra’ is a suffix. The word ‘Na-kshatra’ also is believed to mean ‘not destructible.’ Certain Nakshatras such as Tishya (Pushya), Ashwini, and Revati have been mentioned in the oldest of the Vedas – Rig Veda and the entire list of Nakshatras finds its place in Yajur and Atharva Vedas.

Nakshatras and Moon in Mythology


According to legend, Chandra (Moon) is married to the 27 daughters (Nakshatras) of King Daksha. However, Moon spent most of his time with Rohini and neglected others, which angered their father. Daksha then cursed Moon to lose his powers. When Moon started to dimin tblwidthoneish in size, he prayed to Lord Shiva for help, who removed his curse and wore him on his head when he was left with only three powers. Moon then promised Daksha that he would treat all his 27 daughters equally with love. Thus, Moon transits all the 27 Nakshatras in a month covering the entire zodiac orbit.

Nakshatras, Padas and Zodiac Signs

The 27 Nakshatras are spread across the 12 zodiac signs in three cusps at Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Some Nakshatras lie entirely within a sign, whereas certain stars overlap in two zodiac signs. Each Nakshatra has its own ruling deity and powers, which play a major role in deciding the characteristics of an individual. Everyone born on this earth has their birth star, which depends on the placement of Moon in one of the 27 stars. Each Nakshatra is further divided into 4 Padas (quarters) at 3⁰ 20’ each, which represent the quality of each star.

The 27 Nakshatras include Ashwini, Bharani, Krittika, Rohini, Mrighasira, Ardra, Punarvasu, Pushya, Ashlesha, Magha, Purva Phalguni, Uttara Phalguni, Hasta, Chitra, Swati, Vishaka, Anuradha, Jyestha, Moola, Purvashada, Uttarashada, Sharavan, Dhanishta, Shatabisha, Purvabhadra, Uttarabhadra, and Revati. Based on the birth time of an individual and the position of Moon at time of birth, the birth star of an individual is determined.

Classification of Nakshatras

Based on the qualities of each Nakshatra, the 27 birth stars are classified into the following 7 groups:

Quality Stars Favorable
Laghu or Kshipra (swift) Nakshatras
  • Ashwini
  • Pushya
  • Hasta
These stars are favorable to commence a journey, trade, and transactions, involve in sports activities, and also starting sales, business or repaying loan/debts
Mridu (tender) Nakshatras
  • Mrigashira
  • Chitra
  • Anuradha
  • Revati
These stars are favorable to learn music, dance, and arts and conducting marriages. They are also ideal for the enjoyment of pleasures, making new friends, and wearing new clothes
Sthira (fixed) Nakshatras
  • Rohini
  • Uttara Phalguni
  • Uttarashada
  • Uttarabhadra
These stars are favorable to build homes, plant trees, purchase property, lay a foundation, and buying agricultural property
Chara (movable) Nakshatras
  • Punarvasu
  • Swati
  • Shravana
  • Dhanishta
  • Shatabisha
These stars are good to buy automobiles, vehicles, beginning a journey or procession, travel, change of residence or job, and other major changes
Tikshna (sharp) Nakshatras
  • Ardra
  • Ashlesha
  • Jyestha
  • Moola
These stars favor filing a divorce, breaking a relationship, black magic, exorcism, and other brash/bold activities
Ugra or Krura (fierce) Nakshatras
  • Bharani
  • Magha
  • Purva Phalguni
  • Purvabhadra
These stars are ideal for performing destructive deeds such as demolishing, poisoning, setting fire, and confronting enemies
Ugra or Krura (fierce) Nakshatras
  • Krittika
  • Vishakha
These stars favor daily mundane actions, fire ceremonies and to buy furniture and electronics
Learn More About The Birth Stars

Your birth star is the blueprint of your nature and traits. Read on to know the characteristics, strengths and weaknesses and a lot more about yourself based on your birth star.