Purify Your Living Space: Invoke the Custodians of Land & Properties - Vastu Purusha & Ashta Dikpalaka Join Now
AstroVed Menu
India's No. 1
Online Astrology &
Remedy Solution
cart-added The item has been added to your cart.

Who are Rahu and Ketu?

DateSeptember 28, 2023

In Vedic astrology, there are 9 planets that influence human destiny. They are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Mars, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu. Of these, Rahu and Ketu are not actual planets but lunar nodes. While Rahu is the North Node, Ketu is the South Node. They are mathematical points where the paths of the Sun and Moon intersect. However, they have great significance in astrology and individual destiny. They are karmic planets, and as such, they determine the karmic journey of all souls.

Rahu: The Amplifier

Rahu is depicted as the head of a snake or dragon in Hindu mythology. It has a tremendous appetite for power and desires. Rahu signifies worldly ambitions, materialism, and the unconventional. Its presence in our chart reveals our desires, obsessions, and cravings. It makes us want to explore uncharted territories and go after new experiences.

The alignment of Rahu with other planets creates different kinds of problems. Rahu is unable to discriminate between good and evil. So it can work against Dharma. Rahu is not spiritual and traps people in a fog of illusion. Rahu is also very selfish.

Sudden and unexpected changes in our lives can happen due to Rahu’s influence. They can be good or bad. Rahu has a tendency to amply or exaggerate the energy of the planet it’s associated with. Natives in whose charts Rahu is strongly placed may be very ambitious and driven to achieve success. But sometimes, this can make them obsessive and lead them astray.

Rahu’s qualities are disease, enmity, and debt. It can make one confident, brave, and fearless. Rahu’s influence is very strong in Kali Yuga. Rahu is more powerful in Mercury’s sign. Rahu is also strong in Virgo. As Rahu does not have its own sign, it will function like the lord of the house in which it sits. Rahu is stronger in the 3rd, 6th, and 11th houses.

Ketu: The Liberator

Ketu is depicted as the dragon’s tail in Hindu mythology. It signifies detachment and spiritual liberation. Ketu bestows spiritual wisdom and intuition. It brings detachment from desires and material things. It leads us towards spiritual growth and self-realization.

Ketu can make one feel lonely and isolated. It can make the native an introvert but also creative, knowledgeable, and spiritual. It is linked to past life karmas and reveals the lessons carried over from our past lives. Ketu can make us seek answers beyond the superficial level of existence.
A strong Ketu can make one earn wealth or inherit ancestral wealth. The native may be respected and honored in society. On the other hand, a weak Ketu can bring many problems in life. The native may have health issues or financial problems. Lack of success in career and relationships is also possible.

When Ketu is not well-placed in the birth chart, it can cause depression, anxiety, fear of ghosts, lack of focus, etc. Ketu also causes hunger, illness, accidents, imprisonment, miseries, joint pains, conspiracies, etc. It is most compatible with Saturn, Venus, Mercury, and Rahu.
A well-placed Ketu brings luck and fortune, especially in business. The native may have a simple lifestyle despite being wealthy. Ketu makes the native just, compassionate, and humane. They are likely to be righteous.

The native may develop addictions. Their hard work may not yield good results. They may have supernatural experiences and will be interested in occult subjects like black magic and sorcery. Their marriage and relationships may lack trust.

Rahu and Ketu’s Relation

Rahu and Ketu are located opposite each other in the birth chart. Their positions throw light on the karmic journey of a person. Rahu indicates unmet desires and future aspirations, while Ketu indicates past experiences and the lessons one has learned.

Rahu and Ketu represent a balance between material pursuits and spiritual progress. Rahu makes us chase our ambitions, but Ketu reminds us that material gains are not permanent.

Rahu and Ketu influence our lives in many ways. Their energies can be disruptive. There may be sudden shifts, opportunities, and challenges that trigger personal growth. Rahu and Ketu can tell us a lot about our karmic journey, the patterns we carry from past lifetimes, and the lessons we will have to learn in our current lifetime.

Rahu Mahadasha lasts for 18 years, while Ketu Mahadasha is for 7 years. While it is true that Rahu and Ketu can bring challenging experiences, they can also have positive effects.
During Rahu-Ketu transits, there may be many major changes and events in life. To avoid the negative effects, one can perform remedies as per the advice of an astrologer.

Rahu-Ketu Transit 2023
Rahu Ketu transits take place every 18 months. Rahu moves from Aries to Pisces, and Ketu will move from Libra to Virgo on 30th Oct. 2023. They will remain in these signs until May 18, 2025.

Related Topics

Share the Blog Post

All Categories

Connect With astrologer on call for more personalised detailed predictions.