Naga Chaturthi & Garuda Panchami 2024 - Remove Snake Curses & Afflictions, Acclaim Status, Well-being & Prosperity Order Now
AstroVed Menu

Navratri Colours 2017

September 13, 2017 | Total Views : 3,414
Zoom In Zoom Out Print

About Navratri

Navratri is a popular and auspicious Hindu festival which is observed for a period of nine nights and ten days. It is dedicated to Goddess Durga, who is considered the embodiment of the combined forces of all the Gods in the Hindu pantheon. The festival as such marks the triumph of good over evil and celebrates the liberation of all auspicious attributes. The Goddess manifested as Shailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Siddhidatri, each with their own unique characteristics. Navratri venerates all nine avatars of Durga and each form is worshiped individually on all the nine days of the festival. Hence, devotees wear different colored garments on each day, symbolic of the nine forms of the Goddess. These colors are Yellow, Red, Orange, Pink, Royal Blue, White, Grey and Green. Navratri Colours 2017 The colors may vary from day-to-day every year, with the first color being decided based on the week day when the festival commences. However, the same colors apply every year; it is only the order of the colors that changes from day-to-day. The nine colors of the Navratri festival for the year 2017 are mentioned in the order of the day they fall on:
  • Pratipada - Yellow
  • Dwitiya - Green
  • Tritya - Grey
  • Chaturthi - Orange
  • Panchami - White
  • Sashti - Red
  • Saptami - Royal Blue
  • Ashtami - Pink
  • Navami – Purple
  • Each color carries its own special significance during the Navratri festival, while also representing one different form of Goddess Durga. Ghatasthapana / Pratipada - Day 1 (Yellow) Navratri-2017-day-1-Colour The first day of the Navratri festival is observed with the worship of ‘Shailaputri Maa’ (daughter of the mountains). Goddess Durga is also revered as Parvati or Hemavati on this day and she is depicted in yellow colored garments. Dwitiya – Day 2 (Green) Navratri-2017-day-2-Colour The second day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Brahmacharini. This form of the Goddess is considered highly beneficial for meditation, with green being the color for the day. Tritiya – Day 3 (Grey) Navratri-2017-day-3-Colour The third day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Chandraghanta. This form of the Goddess symbolizes beauty, valor and tranquility. She is depicted in Grey garments on this day. Chaturthi - Day 4 (Orange) Navratri-2017-day-4-Colour The fourth day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Kushmanda. She symbolizes energy in this form and is depicted in Orange garments on this day. Panchami - Day 5 (White) Navratri-2017-day-5-Colour The fifth day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Skandamata, who is depicted in White garments. Devotees observe ‘Lalitha Gauri Vrat’ (fast) on this day. Shashti - Day 6 (Red) Navratri-2017-day-6-Colour The sixth day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Katyayani. She is depicted in Red garments on this day. Saptami - Day 7 (Royal Blue) Navratri-2017-day-7-Colour The seventh day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Kaalratri. She is depicted in Royal Blue garments on this day. It is also the day when the Utsav Puja is celebrated and the beginning of the Maha Saptami period. Ashtami - Day 8 (Pink) Navratri-2017-day-8-Colour The seventh day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Maha Gauri. She is depicted in Pink garments.Devotees also perform the ‘Saraswati Puja’ on this day. Navami / Dasami - Day 9 (Purple) Navratri-2017-day-9-Colour The seventh day of Navratri is observed by worshiping Goddess Siddhidatri. This is considered the ninth and last form of Goddess Durga and she is depicted in Purple garments on this day. The above mentioned article sums up the various forms of Goddess Durga and the significance of the color for every individual day. The Goddess is worshiped with deep reverence by devotees, who seek her blessings for a peaceful and prosperous life. All the rituals and ceremonies conducted during the Navratri festival have immense religious and spiritual significance. Besides wearing the different colors of every particular day, people also observe a fast during the nine day festival period. banner

    Leave a Reply

    Submit Comment
    • Isoke Raquelle Holmes
      I just found this information on Navratri and am sad because I missed the beginning of the 9 nights, although energetically, I keep feeling a need to buy flowers and make offerings at my Goddess altar. I was also drawn to the specific colors during this time, but have worn them on the different days. I traveled to Tamil Nadu with Dr. Pillai (then known as Siva Baba) in 2004, and have practiced the Navratri poojas since then. This will be my first time missing the full practice, but I will participate in the last 3 days starting today. Is it acceptable to perform the poojas for the full 9 nights leading up to Diwali? Thank you and best regards to Dr. Pillai and all staff of AstroVed. The Goddess trip I took with you has been the best spiritual journey I have taken thus far in my life. Thank you again for such a well planned, transformational journey!!
      September 28, 2017
      • Sales
        Namaste Isoke Raquelle, That's Nice you had an greatest opportunity to travel with Dr. Pillai during Navatri trip in the past. Hope now also, its good time to worship Goddesses, where throughout the year, on every Tuesdays and Fridays, you can worship Goddesses. Apart from this on the Diwali occasion, Amavasya (new moon, Poornima (full moon) are the most Auspicious days to seek HER blessings. Thanks, With Kind Regards, Astroved member support.
        October 3, 2017