Rama Navami Ceremonies & Grand Ram Lalla Statue Installation On Ram’s Birthday Powertime JOIN NOW

What is Vedic Astrology

April 16, 2016 | Total Views : 2,181
Zoom In Zoom Out Print

Jyotish, translated as “the science of light,” is a section of the Vedic literature also known as Vedic Astrology. It is the most ancient divinatory science, studying the cosmic energies to understand and gain valuable clues concerning our experiences on Earth.

How does Vedic Astrology help?

Each individual is a combination of energies, which can be understood by studying one’s natal chart, also called the birth chart or horoscope. In this chart, one can see the position of the nine planets – the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu – at the time of one’s birth. This chart becomes the basis of all analyses concerning the nature of the individual and the quality of life he or she will have with the changing trends and periods they will undergo. vedic-astrology

Planets Influencing Personality

Each of these planets plays a role in framing an individual’s personality. For example, the Sun, the center of all life, represents one’s true self. It gives self-will, courage, and success in any work. More can be assessed from its position in a house. The Sun in the 3rd house in one’s horoscope is considered very auspicious; an individual shines, overcoming all difficulties. A person becomes famous and wealthy. On the other hand, its position in the 4th house will make a person restless and cause disturbances in his or her personal life. The person will possess little material wealth.


Planets Influencing Situations

Each of these nine planets rules a period of time in one’s life, and depending on the length of time they are called major, minor, or sub-minor periods. Current transits of the planets relative to the planetary periods are considered for determining the course of events in one’s life. The lord of the major period will give results concerning the houses it rules and aspects. The relationship between major and minor period lords as exists in the natal chart will be important to judge the kind of results it may cause. One experiences favorable results when major, minor, and sub-minor period lords are benefic in nature. Usually, the combination of 2nd, 5th, 9th, and 11th house lords in a planetary period is considered good for business and income. On the other hand, when the lords of the 3rd, 6th, 8th, and 12th houses combine during a planetary period, one experiences difficulties and health problems in life. The authority of the major lord rules supreme for delivering results. For example, if the major lord rules the 2nd house of money, the minor lord rules the 11th house of gains, and the sub-minor rules the 9th house of fortune, then the person is likely to benefit through material gains during this planetary period.

The Role of Karma

According to Vedic Astrology, life is an interplay of karma and free will. Karma is the reaction of our exercise of free will. The reaction will come at the appointed time, which can be immediate or may get delayed by a lifetime. The planets in one’s natal chart give an indication of the energies the soul has carried from past births. Remedial measures in Vedic Astrology help one connect with the higher energies to alleviate difficulties and create happiness and harmony.


Leave a Reply

Submit Comment