Chitra Purnima: Invoke Chitragupta’s Birthday Blessings On Full Moon Day to Erase Karmic Records JOIN NOW

9 Days of Navaratri

October 14, 2015 | Total Views : 3,532
Zoom In Zoom Out Print

The Goddess is a divine form with unlimited consciousness to perform super-normal activities. She is the Divine Feminine energy who knows everything, do anything, and be everywhere at any time. The Goddess is not an abstract form who is visible only to the saints and the seers, but is human-like and possesses a higher nature. And Navaratri, a Hindu festival, presents the perfect opportunity to be in contact with the Goddesses Higher nature and live the Goddess. Days-of-Navaratri

What is Navaratri?

Navaratri means 9 festive days to worship the Goddess Shakti in Her various forms. The essence of this festival lies in manifesting the divine feminine powers of creation, preservation, and destruction of the Goddess. This year, Navaratri falls between October 13 – October 21 and Vijayadasami, the 10th day, will be celebrated on October 22. Goddess Durga is the life creator of the universe and a supreme being. She is the Divine Mother who preserves the flow and source of life energy and the warrior Goddess (also called Kali or Chandi) who destroys the evil. The 10th day, also called Vijayadasami, is a victorious celebration of conquering the evil or human ignorance.


Significance of Navaratri

Navaratri signifies the Goddess in our consciousness. The powerful 9 days of Navaratri depicts Her Super normal consciousness to create miracles through our human minds. The human mind has limitless possibilities to overcome its limitations and ‘chit’ or Shakti (from Sanskrit) of the Goddess makes it possible. Her ‘Shakti’ is depicted as the divine feminine power which conquers our inner demons like ego, greed, jealousy, anger and ignorance. And when they are driven out, the mind becomes limitless, removed of ignorance.

The Divine Shaktis

Navaratri celebrates the Feminine Divine energies of Goddesses Durga, Lakshmi and Saraswati. This festival occurs after Mahalaya New Moon and the subsequent phases of the Moon bring out the glory of the 3 Shaktis. The 3 divine Shaktis are all encompassing and depict the attributes of a Supreme Being. They are: 1. Omnipotence – To do anything Goddess Durga symbolizes the unlimited and universal power to manifest life in itself. The Goddess is formidable and represents a fierce image of slaying the evil. She is protective as the Divine Mother and lovingly reaches out to do anything to save Her followers during calamities. 2. Omnipresence – To do everything According to Dr.Pillai, “Goddess Lakshmi is the most important of all Goddesses because she represents wealth”. Since poverty consciousness limits our minds to think poorly, invocation of Goddess Lakshmi, the giver of wealth, eliminates poverty from our mind and helps us do everything- materially or spiritually, for both ourselves and our families. 3. Omniscience – To know anything The Goddess of learning, Goddess Saraswati , radiates intelligence. She is the embodiment of wisdom and Her divine energy carries fluidity of knowledge, which helps us know anything. Therefore, the 9 days of Navaratri inspire divine consciousness in us and helps us access the universal power of the Goddess. So, stay human and feel the divine. Happy Navratri!! Read our related articles: Navaratri – Welcome Goddess Energy to Your Home


Leave a Reply

Submit Comment