Invoke Agora Veerabhadra - To Overcome Adverse Effects Of Mars-Rahu Conjunct In Taurus JOIN NOW
cart-added The item has been added to your cart.

What is Rasi and Nakshatra

While Western astrology deals with Sun signs, Vedic astrology is based on Moon signs. The Sun spends a month in each Zodiac sign, so Sun sign predictions are rather broad-based and are applicable to a large number of people. The Moon, on the other hand, spends only 2.5 days in each sign, so the reading will be more personalized and specific. In Vedic astrology, the Moon sign is called Rasi. There are 12 Rasis – Aries (Mesha), Taurus (Vrishabha), Gemini (Mithuna), Cancer (Kadaga), Leo (Simha), Virgo (Kanya), Libra (Tula), Scorpio (Vrischika), Sagittarius (Dhanu), Capricorn (Makara), Aquarius (Kumbha), and Pisces (Meena).

What is Rasi and Nakshatra

The Significance of Rasi

The 12 Rasis form the Zodiac, a space in the sky resembling a belt. This belt has 12 divisions called zodiac signs. A single zodiac sign is called a Rasi. Put together, they complete a full cycle around the earth in the sky that resembles a belt. The planets (Grahas) and nakshatras (stars) are found within this small space.

To find one’s Rasi or Moon sign, one’s exact birth date, time, and place are required. The Rasi or Moon sign signifies a person’s moods and subconscious, as the Moon rules one’s moods. For example, people with a Taurus moon sign will be practical, hardworking, and stubborn. On the contrary, a Leo Rasi person will be dominating, vain, and generous. While the Sun sign reveals your outward ego and personality, the Moon sign reflects your deepest emotions. Your Moon sign shows how you process feelings and your gut reactions. Do you drive rashly when you are angry? A Moon sign in hot-headed Aries could be the reason. The Moon sign also shows what you look for in your relationships and how you will get along with other people. For forging relationships, it’s very important to know the partner’s Moon sign. Understanding your moon sign and its meaning can help you forge relationships based on similar emotional wiring. This helps you achieve a natural harmony as well as the ability to build an enduring bond. The Moon sign is actually like an inner emotional compass. It influences the people, experiences, and material objects that make you feel safe and secure.

The Significance of Nakshatra

Nakshatras are the 28 constellations in the Hindu system of astrology. But only 27 nakshatras are in use now. Each star has 4 quarters. Each Rasi is assigned 30 degrees, and there are 12 Rasis or zodiac signs adding up to 360 degrees. So each zodiac sign is assigned two full stars and a quarter, and each quarter has 3 degrees 20 minutes. Nine quarters equal 30 degrees and make one sign or house. Starting from Aries and ending in Pieces, twelve houses have 9 pada (or 2 and a quarter star for each house).

When a birth chart is made for a child or person, it takes into account the date, place, and time of birth. At the time of birth, the Moon may occupy one of the 12 Rasis and one of the 3 nakshatras belonging to the Rasi occupied by the Moon. As the moon makes its way through each of the Zodiac signs, it will pass through a specific Nakshatra at a particular point in time, when it is within one specific Zodiac sign. In this way, a person is assigned a particular Rasi and Nakshatra.

All planets may occupy the Rasis, but the Moon is the most important, as it rules the mind and our thought processes, feelings, and emotions, which influence our actions. This is why the Moon sign is seen as more important than the Sun sign for making predictions. The Nakshatra, too, is important because it defines our character.

Let us see how the stars, planets, and Moon sign interact in the life of a person. Suppose a person’s Moon sign is Aries. The ruling planet of Aries is Mars, which is a hot and aggressive planet. Hence, the person will be short-tempered and aggressive. It’s like a normally calm person standing under the hot sun. After a while, he may feel irritated and angry. In a fit of anger, he may get into a fight with someone and do something violent. In this manner, the planets, and stars, and Rasis shape our nature and actions. Hence, the Rasi and Nakshatra are taken into account in Vedic astrology for making predictions about future events in a person’s life.

Jyothish or Vedic astrology has 3 main elements – the Rasis (12), Grahas (9), and Nakshatras (27). The interaction between them forms the basis of the predictions.

How to find your Rasi and Nakshatra

It is simple and easy to find your Janma Rasi and Janma Nakshatra. There are many free tools like Nakshatra Finder or Rasi Calculator online on many astrological websites like AstroVed, AstroSage, etc. If you enter your birth date, time and place, it will reveal these details.